Posted by: jdantos | February 25, 2010

Reggae

For some reason, I’ve been on a reggae kick since last summer.  Since I’m trying to pick up the electric bass, I like how the bass line in reggae is 1) in the forefront of the songs, and 2) usually simplistic.  I think it has something also to do with the Endless Boundaries podcast I’ve been listening to, but some of my favorites are Marley (duh), Groundation, John Brown’s Body, the Black Seeds, Maatisyahu, and Collie Buddz.  It’s this whole genre I’ve never really explored before, and I’ve been going a little nuts at the iTunes store.  The whole rasta thing and weed references don’t do much for me, but I’m really digging the music and message otherwise.  And, this is after I went on a bluegrass kick for most of 2009, so hey – comes and goes I guess.

Leave a Reply

Categories

