Posted by: jdantos | February 7, 2012

Utilitaire 12, #1 and (maybe) #12

Sunrise over the Potomac River, on Memorial Bridge Feb. 4, 2012. Poofy red jacket in panniers - would prove useful later.

#1: Normally, my commute to work is all of 3 miles, from eastern Capitol Hill to downtown, and is not terribly exciting or long.  I sometimes get cold toes in the winter or sweaty in the summer, but since it only lasts 12-15 minutes, I can pretty much grin and bear it, as long as it’s not icy or snowing.

But last Saturday my commute changed – because it was a Saturday, which was weird, but also because I had to be in Courthouse at 8am, moonlighting (daylighting?) for a work thing where I try to be helpful and hand out brochures.

Anyway, I figured this was a good opportunity to record a “work” trip (#1) on the Utilitaire 12 since it was different than normal.  Things I learned:

  • It’s cold before dawn in January!  It made me appreciate my normal post-dawn commutes.
  • Taking Independence Ave. is a fast east-west connection across downtown, but it’s only advisable at off-hours.
  • Winter sunrises are beautiful. Maybe I should wake up for them more.

Utilitiare 12.1 - To Work in Courthouse

The return trip in the afternoon was much warmer, but traffic was awake again so I reverted to the 14th St. Bridge.

Trip date: Feb. 4

Length: 15.2 miles round-trip.

.

.

#12: Okay, so I didn’t take a picture of this, but I did ride to my haircut today.  I have a map of the ride, if that counts?  I figure I’ve only got one shot at the haircut one during this game’s timeframe, but who knows, maybe I won’t need this one in the end.  Figured I’d write it down for posterity’s sake.  Note to self – take more pictures.

Ride to haircut (map lamely standing in for photo)

Responses

  1. Man, there are a lot of people getting haircuts! Who knew?

  2. […] took a break from rocking the Capital Bikeshare data to go for a work utilitaire. He chose a day where he worked from a more remote location than his usual commute, and ended up […]

  3. […] took a break from rocking the Capital Bikeshare data to go for a work utilitaire. He chose a day where he worked from a more remote location than his usual commute, and ended up […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

